More random notes from NZ

March 25, 2009 at 9:18 pm 3 comments

1) The corner dairy (i.e., convenience store) has random Japanese snack foods. (Not just pocky, either.)

2) The cashier there will give you $1 coins if you ask, but not many, because everyone else asks for them too. (The washing machine is $2 a load, but only takes $1 coins.)

3) Right next to the dairy is an Indian place that does takeout. There’s a little fridge right in the entryway with ready-to-go mango lassis. And this is literally right around the corner from my flat. I may be in trouble.

4) I met this cute girl there, too~ She’s from New Mexico, she also lives in Ilam Villages, she’s studying anthropology, she writes in her spare time…and the odds are good I’ll never run into her again. Sigh.

5) I also met a cat. Walking home one day, spotted it sitting on a fence, said hello.

6) Did I mention that skateboards are all the rage here? There are tons of people who just board around campus, natural as walking.

7) The Canterbury library is huge. I missed the tours at the beginning of the term, but one of the librarians gave me some quick pointers. Religion textbooks are on the fourth floor; political science is up on the ninth. (The elevators go – say it with me now – all the way up to eleven.)

Entry filed under: Money Well Spent, Only In NZ.

Hindu Goddesses 101 Durgā and Mahisha, part 1: a war story

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. dad  |  March 25, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    i’m glad to hear that they have proper takeout and not that silly take away.
    however, i am confused, why don’t they just renumber the floors so the top one is 10?

    Reply
  • 2. Erin Ptah  |  March 26, 2009 at 12:02 am

    …I’m going to need to watch Spinal Tap to figure that out, aren’t I.

    Reply
  • 3. dad  |  March 26, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    alas yes you are … we can watch when you get home if you have better thing to do there!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts