Archive for March 25, 2009

More random notes from NZ

1) The corner dairy (i.e., convenience store) has random Japanese snack foods. (Not just pocky, either.)

2) The cashier there will give you $1 coins if you ask, but not many, because everyone else asks for them too. (The washing machine is $2 a load, but only takes $1 coins.)

3) Right next to the dairy is an Indian place that does takeout. There’s a little fridge right in the entryway with ready-to-go mango lassis. And this is literally right around the corner from my flat. I may be in trouble.

4) I met this cute girl there, too~ She’s from New Mexico, she also lives in Ilam Villages, she’s studying anthropology, she writes in her spare time…and the odds are good I’ll never run into her again. Sigh.

5) I also met a cat. Walking home one day, spotted it sitting on a fence, said hello.

6) Did I mention that skateboards are all the rage here? There are tons of people who just board around campus, natural as walking.

7) The Canterbury library is huge. I missed the tours at the beginning of the term, but one of the librarians gave me some quick pointers. Religion textbooks are on the fourth floor; political science is up on the ninth. (The elevators go – say it with me now – all the way up to eleven.)

March 25, 2009 at 9:18 pm 3 comments


Calendar

March 2009
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category